Premed 101 Forums

~ 3.5 GPA, PhD, 33S.. Chances?

Hi guys,

I have pretty standard ECs.. I'm currently doing a PhD in Medical Genetics that I will complete by next year.. I have my name on 4 publications, 2 international talks that I gave. I have received a few scholarships, both in undergrad and grad. Been on a few departmental committees. I'm co-inventor on a patent filed related to my research. I've taught Med Gen concepts to MD students ( 5 classes of a couple hours each). I've TAed an undergrad course.. During my undergrad I volunteered at both Safewalk and at Campus Security...

My science and non-science GPAs are both ~ 3.5...

3rd year: 3.5

4th year: 3.7

Grad: 4.0

Scored on the MCAT: 33S: BS13, PS10, VR10

Is it worth the effort to apply in the US or do I really have no chance?

Thanks,

Thanks.. I guess my strategy for the US is to actually apply at top tier schools, in the hope that I can get in based on the fact that I'm a bit different than most of their applicants... I know my GPA and even MCAT will greatly hinder this.. but in part, I don't want to move to the US just to move to the US... but rather to attend an amazing school.. so Mid to Top tier is likely what I'm aiming for.

DO is definitely not something I'm interested in.

As I said before... I know I am not the best candidate with my GPA and MCAT scores, but I'm hoping with my research background (& PhD) it will count in my favour:

Albert Einstein

Boston U

Emory

Dartmouth

Harvard

Johns Hopkins

Mount Sinai

Northwestern Feinberg

UPenn

Stanford

UCSF (I know they interviewed 0 international applicants last year, but I would love to live in SF)

and Yale.

In Canada: UBC, UAlberta, UCalgary UToronto and McMaster (unlikely)

I really do only want to move to the US if it is for a top school. One can dream I guess!