Premed 101 Forums

UBC Upper-level courses recommendation

Hello, I'm a UBC Science student going into 3rd year this September, and here I am looking to get some solid advice from senior premed students.

By now, after spending a couple of academic years at UBC, I've come to a full realization that there are no 'easy' courses in Faculty of Science. I'm not necessarily looking for an 'easy A GPA booster', and I'm willing to put my effort and time into my study just like everyone on this forum.

However I'm certain that there are courses that are interesting and helpful (especially to premed students), and do not put GPAs at a such great risk.

If you have already taken 3+ years at UBC and have knowledge on upper-level courses (300 and 400 levels) that you'd like to recommend to a novice student like me, please share your insight!

So far, I know that ANAT390,391 , PHYL301 and MICB302 (there're split opinions on this though) are something that I want to look into.

If you know courses that you suggest that I take, please let me know!

Thanks in advance!

A lot of people like to take CLST301 (medical terminology). You might want to take a look at that.

I took it a few years back and it was a super easy course - however I know from some friends that have taken it in the last few years that they've changed it to make it harder. I still think you can get a solid mark though.

To the OP, Anat 390 and 391 are definitely 90+ courses - you just have to put in a lot of work and be good at memorizing. Same goes for Phyl 301. If you want something completely different Eosc 326 is a pretty interesting course and you can get a good mark. Also Fnh 355 / Pcth 325 are both easy courses but heavy on the memorizing. I would actually highly recommend Pcth 325 (unless you're in pharmacology, in which case you can't take it), it's a really interesting course with great profs.

thanks Lucky? and kenshlee for your answers!