Premed 101 Forums

Low First Year Average good enough to go into medical school?

Hello guys!

I just finished my 1st year and sad to say, my average is LOW. After taking all the lower level sciences, I ended up with a 71.9%. I'm starting to lose hope to get into medical school since my average is not competitive!

Be honest guys, is there a chance for me to get into medical school (Canada)? How did you guys get so much high marks! I studied my ass off during the year but ended up depressed especially after the finals because no matter how much I study, my marks are always in the 70sh range.

Thank you guys.

To be honest those marks just aren't high enough and it will weigh very heavily on your transcript. I worked 3 years to get rid of my 75 average first year, with my 4th year getting all 4.0's and my average still wasn't competitive. Luckily I had a great mcat and good references/extracurriculars.

You're not done for but you gotta get your a** in gear. Don't get below an 80 from now on. It seems like you haven't figured out a method of studying that works for you yet, which does take time. You need to put effort into studying all year not just when exams come and should talk to a counsellor or successful friends about some techniques. Also, it's unspoken but seriously just take easy courses. Find your niche and take every class. Mine was psychology electives.

I second everything robinre said above.

OP, I had a similar GPA in first year but I will be starting med school in Canada this fall, so yes it is still possible for you but you have to work very hard in the next 3 years to make sure your GPA is in the high 80s-90s. Like robinre mentioned, you should change your study methods. You mentioned you're studying hard, but make sure you are studying smart.