Premed 101 Forums

Minimum MCAT score to be competitive?

Hi,

I have just finished my undergraduate degree in Business (Finance/Logistics) and I was originally set on attending law school in 2013, but after years of consideration (and that hunch that I belonged more to the sciences than in law/business); I have decided to pursue medical school. I am also a Manitoba resident.

My cGPA per UofM (lowest 30 credit hours dropped) is 4.1x, although I have not taken the necessary biochem courses. I have all the high school prerequisites though and I was a strong sciences student in the AP program while in highschool so I hope an A/A+ isn't too far off. I am planning on completing these courses in the fall/winter and writing the MCAT this summer (I have already started to prepare with exam krackers, are these books my best bet? I am hoping to stick to a similar study structure when I wrote the LSAT; 5-6hrs of prep every day for 4 months. I should hopefully be alright for the RC section equivalent on the MCAT given my prep for the LSAT ).

My question is, what score would I need to receive on the MCAT to be competitive to receive a MMI interview? I understand that the biochem courses I take will be factored in to my cgpa calculation and consequently, my GPA may drop. Although I don't see my GPA dropping below a 4.1.

I am also afraid that if I was considered competitive, that my business undergrad will be looked upon negatively. I understand that the admissions committee looks for candidates who have always strived to be a doctor and my undergrad doesn't really reflect that. I also don't have many ECs that are particularly relevant to medicine as well (does winning a medal a few times in the provincial science fair back in high school count for anything :o).

Thank you in advance and my apologies for the awful structure, punctuation, and grammar f this post; I am writing it on my crappy tablet with a touch screen keyboard :mad: . Not fun.