Premed 101 Forums

MCAT-Physical Sciences. Advices and Tips

Hi Guys,

About a month ago I received multiple private messages from several PM101ers about how I studied for the MCAT. I promised them that I would post something on the forum. Since I have some time now, I decided to post this thread focusing on preparing for MCAT physical sciences (PS). Other sections will come later.

Before I go on further, I want to emphasize that the tips below are by no means the most efficient way (or, for that matter, the one and only way) of preparing for MCAT PS. These reflect the way I personally prepare for my MCAT physical sciences section, so of course take everything I write with a grain of salt.

Now the Prep:

Physics:

1. The pre-reqs are a must. You need, as a minimum, physics 1, physics 2, calc 1, and calc 2. When I say Physics 1 and 2, I am talking about calculus based courses. I would strongly recommend knowing some stuff in calc 3 as well. Some of the stuff in calc 3 comes in very handy.

2. Physics isn't about "knowing what equations to use in what time." If you focus on that, you already lost the battle. You should be able to derive almost all equations you use in physics with ease at this level. The vast majority of derivations require a strong background in both differential and integral calculus (and sometimes, vector calculus), so know your calculus.

So why spend the time to derive equations you ask?

i) Without deriving equations for yourself you will never know the true limitations of each equation you use, hence falling into the trap of "don't know what equation to use at what time."

Let me give you an example.

W (work)= Force vector * Displacement (dot product)

If this is the way you understand work, your understanding of physics is still at the algebraic level.

W (work) = S ( vector path integral) F(t) *ds (displacement )