Premed 101 Forums

Exploring to work as an OT in Canada

Hi everybody,

I am an OT graduated in Hong Kong and want to know more about the job market and living in Canada.

I got some friends living in Vancouver, and my family are considering immigrating there. I got my undergrad., master degree and some post-grad. training (SIPT, Vitalstim, Neuro-IFRAH). I have over 10 years of experience working in the field of community / pediatric./ neuro-rehab.

From what i have read in this forum and search some of the job hunting website (Indeed, wowjobs). The market for OT doesn't sound very encouraging.

Just wanna to know:

1. Is it really very difficult to find some full time jobs in Vancouver?

2. Is the salary info from "Healthcare Salary Canada" reflect the true income of an OT? (http://www.healthcaresalarycanada.com/occupational_therapist_salary.html)

3. What's the usual working hours per week?

4. What website would you use for job hunting?

I know some questions probably sound silly to you guys, but I am desperate to find more 'live" information rather than from manuals/ website.

Thank you so much for your help!!

Lai

I wouldn`t trust this website based on the following

Top 5 Provinces

The top paying provinces to earn Occupational Therapist Salary are Calgary, Edmonton,Ottawa, Vancouverand Waterloo Region. None of these are provinces. They are all cities.

Employment Data

According to the Canadian Labor Market ninety three percent of the Occupational Therapists in Canada are women and only three percent are men. what about the other 4%

Where They Work

Of all the Occupational Therapists employed in the Canadamost work in hospitals and additional health care settings with the minority working in other settings such as schools, universities and nursing homes. the Canadamost? ohy! who made this website