Premed 101 Forums

A Very Complicated Situation, is there a chance?

fuzzypharm

Hi Everybody,

I'm hoping I can get some advice here as I'm sitting here right now trying to plan the next year and a half of my life.

I have worked in the pharmacy field and I've decided this would be an awesome career and I can't believe I didn't consider it earlier!

I would like to apply to UBC pharm since they only take into consideration your first year prereqs (and other courses related to pharm if you're upper year). This works out well for me because I graduated and completed a degree already with a 1.8 GPA. Even though I was getting 70s and 80s in the end, there was a rough patch I had in 2nd year that my GPA never recovered from.

Is it silly to think you can get accepted after your first year if you get great grades and rock the PCAT?

Is it sillier to apply to just one pharm school? I've been in talks with every pharm school in Canada (minus the ones in Quebec) and it sounds like there is hope for me only at this school. To be fair though, I also haven't heard back from Manitoba yet either.

The next part lies in choosing a good uni where I can do my science prereqs, a uni that doesn't bell curve so I can ensure to receive and earn good grades.

I am currently taking high school credits online to fulfill my uni science course prereqs and to be prepared, it's going really well. My plan was to be finished my high school credits by the end of this year so I can apply to a uni in January 2013 and take 2 semesters of my science prereqs. I'm not going back to where I got my previous degree from because it's notorious for bell curving and doesn't provide a pleasant life science undergrad experience.