Premed 101 Forums

2nd Online degree - TRU or Athabasca?

Hi everyone,

First time posting a thread! Need some advice here, esp from people who have gone this route before. I have investigated both universities. Their online programs both look pretty good. However, most of TRU's courses are self-paced, while Athabasca offers both individual paced and group study modes, that follows the traditional semestered pace.

Specifically, I am interested in completing a Bachelor in Commerce. I did a Bachelor in Science for my first undergrad, and out of interest I took some BComm courses and really liked them. So I think doing a 2nd degree in this field would be preferrable to me. I have all the pre-reqs for medical admissions from my 1st undergrad already.

From my understanding, most Canadian Medical Schools do accept degrees from these two universities. However, since each school has their own regulations about course load etc, doing the self-paced thing may not be preferrable (esp for schools like UWO). Thus at this point I am leaning more towards Athabasca, since it offers traditional paced classes. However, from reading the forum I know that some people have become successful in gaining admissions who did their degree from TRU.

So I am just looking for some input/advice, anything really, that people may know about which school would be better. Help is greatly appreciated!

I am doing a degree through TRU- BA Psych. I will write more soon, but I'm babysitting right now. :)

Thanks Kyla! How are you liking the program? From my understanding, the courses on the transcript from TRU will reflect the start date (date you register for the course), and then 30 weeks after that would be the end date. Is this correct?

I have tried contacting UWO regarding this by email, but they didn't give me any real answer - they basically re-stated their courseload requirements and upper class requirements. Maybe I should call them instead...