Premed 101 Forums

this mcat is hard

beanbeans

Is anyone else feeling like they are hopeless after recieving their last mcat results? I have taken the MCAT for the second time. Both times, I studied for 4.5 months and devoted 5 days a week, 6 hours a day to my studies. I feel that my ability to score well greatly increased during my last sitting. However, I ended up scoring the exact same (26S). I am just about ready to give up. On the other hand, I know that medicine is the only thing that I want to do. Any suggestions for how I can improve anyone??

There's a lot of factors, I haven't taken it yet so don't hang on what I say.

Everyone learns differently, your written is a solid score, so perhaps it's just how you're studying and retaining (or lack thereof) the information.

Personally if you've studied one way try totally mixing it up and see if that maybe changes it, or like futureped said, look at the schedule posted and maybe follow that to a T?

On the other hand, I know that medicine is the only thing that I want to do.

People always say this - but they are wrong. There are likely VERY many things that you would be happy doing, you just haven't opened your mind to them.

And what is your undergrad degree in?

Secondly, are you weak in all sections? Or are you strong in anything? (Ie. 12+ in any of the sections).

There is no perfect study schedule. You study what you are weak in and improve. Simple as that. You either aren't studying in enough depth or you aren't objectively evaluating your knowledge in the given sections well enough.

1234 is exactly right.

It doesn't matter how long you study if you aren't using your time appropriately. You need to take a step back and think about why you aren't performing well.