Premed 101 Forums

Grad Students?

Guest elaineli315

Guest elaineli315

I am a second year masters student at UofT. Just wonder if there are lots of other like me out there applying this year. Anyone has idea how the schools take into account grad courses and thesis work? Let me know if you are in grad school too (or have been in grad school and now accepted into dentistry).

Guest LestatZinnie

i'm sorry i can't really answer your inquiry but the rumor i've heard is that undergrad work is often weighed more heavily, but then different schools have different philosophies. if you check stats for UBC the entrance rate for grad students is consistent at 1 in 3 for the last 2 yrs.

my question: does u of t or other ontario med/dent schools have the policy of not admitting grad students that has not completed their degree. i know at UBC, if you're a grad a student and have not completed your thesis then they will not consider your admission. they do this to discourage ppl in grad school from jumping the boat to attend professional schools. is this the same for other med/dent schools?

i'm also wondering if people currently in professional school and want to apply to another is also subjected to the same treatment...eg in law school and want to apply to dentistry??

Guest elaineli315

For UofT and I guess most other schools, they do require us to finish our thesis and defended etc etc before we enter, but doesn't mean we have to already have our degrees when they look at our application, I guess for most cases they will want prove from the supervisor/grad dept that completion before the September of admission can be guaranteed. Some other medschools will consider deferred admission to give time to finish grad work, but I doubt dental schools will.