Premed 101 Forums

[Official] Applying to OT 2013!

I'm applying to McMaster, Queen's and U of T - I'm in Montreal...

I'm kind of considering applying to UBC as well as I have all the prereqs, but I'm waiting on this semester's GPA in order to decide if spending $200 on the application will even be worth it.. I was also considering applying to UOttawa but there is so little information available about the program that it is scaring me!

• 3 weeks later...

I'm applying to UBC, UofA, UWO, Queens, and UofT.

I'm from BC and have a 3.9 GPA. I have an honours thesis in psych, and I'm wondering if that research experience will improve my chances of getting in or if it will just end up being irrelevant as most OT programs aren't 100% research based...

hey yogaandtea. I'm an OT student at McGill, and evidence based practice is definitely mentioned throughout our curriculum. although we look at clients as a whole and don't solely use research findings as a recipe to guide our clinical practice, it is very important for the profession to advance. therefore, you should mention any research experience if possible!

I'm applying to UBC, UofA, UWO, Queens, and UofT.

I'm from BC and have a 3.9 GPA. I have an honours thesis in psych, and I'm wondering if that research experience will improve my chances of getting in or if it will just end up being irrelevant as most OT programs aren't 100% research based...

For the CV you have to do for U of T (maybe Queen's as well, not sure since I'm not applying there), definitely write about your research experience - in the ORPAS handbook research and presentations are specifically mentioned as subjects they want to know about on the CV!

For the CV you have to do for U of T (maybe Queen's as well, not sure since I'm not applying there), definitely write about your research experience - in the ORPAS handbook research and presentations are specifically mentioned as subjects they want to know about on the CV!