Premed 101 Forums

Engineer to enter Med School

Hello everyone,

I am a mechanical engineer graduated from Concordia/Montreal in 2008 with GPA 3.63/4.3 which I believe is about 3.37/4.0 (according to the conversion chart)

I am trying to enter med school at Ottawa U. I have done lots of research and visited the admission office and all.

The way I see it, I will need some prerequisit courses and a good GPA to apply.

I am thinking to enter into General Science program for 3 years to accumelate a GPA close to 3.8-3.90/4.0

Based on your past experience or general info, could some one please comment, advise, help with any bit of info that can help me, regarding the easiest undergrad program i can apply for, average GPA accepted in the past, ways to boost my GPA, classes to take, maybe different university where it is easier for me to enter..

I apologyze for the million question but it is a major change in my life and I am trying to gather all info I can

Thank you all

Just a quick note, my 5 years in Mechanical engineering (including 1 year of Math, physics, Chem since I did not do college in Canada):

The first 4 years I obtained 7As and 1 or 2 Bs in all years so I had a good standing, only my last year where i had 2 Cs, 3 Bs and 3As and it brought my GPA down by much

In some thread I saw that some universities take the best 2 or 3 years instead of the last 2-3 years.

any comment please.

Thank you

You are definitely on the right track for considering a second undegrad, which means you've done some research before posting. Not many people do that :)

The wGPA cut-off for Ottawa for Out-of-Province (OOP) applicants has been around 3.87 in the last few years. You definitely want to hit at least a 3.9 as an OOP just to be safe. Take a look at their website for how to calculate your wGPA. Assuming you are fluent in French, applying to the French stream can be a bit "easier" but don't quote me because there have been mixed reports :D