Premed 101 Forums

MCAT Prep Courses: What's Your Experience?

KayDeeO

I'm in second year BMSc at UWO and I'm looking to take the MCAT along with an MCAT prep course this coming summer. I've got my choices narrowed down to Kaplan and Princeton Review, but I'm having a hard time deciding which one to pick over the other. How did your experience go for either course (or how was studying on your own?)?

Some other questions I'm also looking to get answered:

- How much time should I take after finishing the prep course before I write my actual test (or is this even necessary)?

- Would you recommend taking the course in your hometown or away from home in your university city (I realize this is a very subjective question, I'm leaning more towards taking it close to school)

Thanks in advance for all your help!

I'm in second year BMSc at UWO and I'm looking to take the MCAT along with an MCAT prep course this coming summer. I've got my choices narrowed down to Kaplan and Princeton Review, but I'm having a hard time deciding which one to pick over the other. How did your experience go for either course (or how was studying on your own?)?

- How much time should I take after finishing the prep course before I write my actual test (or is this even necessary)?

- Would you recommend taking the course in your hometown or away from home in your university city (I realize this is a very subjective question, I'm leaning more towards taking it close to school)

(1) Self-study vs. prep course

I self-studied (while doing research full-time) and it worked out really well for me. I bought a few books and practice material. I'm so glad I didn't spend money on a prep course. I think it really depends on: (a) what type of learner you are, (B) whether or not you've learned the material before, and (B) how motivated/disciplined you are.