Premed 101 Forums

To Dentalangel

Guest rez32

Hi Dentalangel,

I was reading up on past posts on this board and noticed that you go to York U. I'm currently in OAC and am considering on going to York next year. I was hoping that you could tell me about your experiences at York (what you majored in, how you found the profs, the difficulty of the courses, and the learning environment)...it would be much appreciated!! Muchos Gracias in advance!

Guest dentalangel

Hi Rez32, I am not sure what exactly I can tell you of my experience at York that may be helpful since I'm just one person and my experience may be tremendously differently from many other students.

Well I am currently doing a Bachelor of Science in Psychology.

In terms of profs, you have your good and bad professors, just like in high school where you have your good and bad teachers, it really depends on their personality and passion about what they teach. Some profs like to speed read their notes while others do colourful powerpoint presentations and engage the class in meaningful discussion. However, profs always have office hours and you can reach them anytime if you need help or clarification on course material. There are also tutorial leaders assigned who take care most of the marking for a particular course and they are also great sources for help. There are many resources available for first year students, so do not fear any need for help or extra assitance.

University is not as scary as highschool deems it to be, if your willing to put in the effort you are going to see good results. There is just greater responsibility, expectations and time management needed as professors are not on your case about handing in assignments on time or even attending class, in the end your education is what you make it.