Premed 101 Forums

Dental Officer Training Plan (DOTP)

Guest Adelay1982

Guest Adelay1982

Hello everyone! I'm new to this message board and from reading over all of your comments this seems like great place to share information, questions, concerns etc. about dental school.

I just have a couple of questions regarding the Dental Officer Training Program (Canadian Forces). Is anyone planning on applying for this? I think it sounds like a really good option for me. Students accepted in this program have their education subsidized (includes tuition, book, instruments... plus a monthly salary). Sounds great to me! ;)

Upon completion your DDS/DMD degree you spend an obligatory period serving in the army (something like 4 years) ... practicing dentistry of course.

Does anyone know anything more about this plan? Is it competitive to get into?

I have only applied to U of T this year... and I am soo happy that I've been invited for an interview:D

• 3 weeks later...

I;m also very interested in this program, I went to the reqruitment center and talked to people who are in the program.

Basically, they pay for 3 years, you work for 3 years after, or they pay for 4, you work for 4.

In addition to tuition, you get paid around $36K/year for going to school and working for them in the summer, and when you graduate they pay you $105K to work for them. You can be in a nice base or you could be dodging bullets in Tora Bora. :)

Guest LestatZinnie

are you sure the starting salary is 100k? When I checked a year ago, the starting salary is around 70k, but goes up slightly every year.