Premed 101 Forums

Chances OOP for next year

I was just accepted so I am by no means an expert, but they need bolstering. Your MCAT is solid, but you should try to find a way to get some meaningful clinical volunteering in. Judging from those of us who were accepted this year, EC's played a big role. Having said that, your 3yr GPA/MCAT would be solid at dal.

I was just accepted so I am by no means an expert, but they need bolstering. Your MCAT is solid, but you should try to find a way to get some meaningful clinical volunteering in. Judging from those of us who were accepted this year, EC's played a big role. Having said that, your 3yr GPA/MCAT would be solid at dal.

Clinical volunteering is not a requirement. Lots of people get in without it.

It just looks like they appreciate it because 90% of classic premeds do it and since classic Pre-meds are 80% of the class...

As long as you have good EC's that you can use to show you have the Canmeds criteria you'll be fine. It's all about marketing yourself.

That being said, if you want to do clinical volunteering it's not like it's gonna hurt.

Clinical volunteering is not a requirement. Lots of people get in without it.

It just looks like they appreciate it because 90% of classic premeds do it and since classic Pre-meds are 80% of the class...

As long as you have good EC's that you can use to show you have the Canmeds criteria you'll be fine. It's all about marketing yourself.

That being said, if you want to do clinical volunteering it's not like it's gonna hurt.

Good point. Never looked at it that way.

Honestly,

There are A LOT of applicant OOP for very few seats.

Think wisely.

Also, if you do get an interview it is going to cost you A LOT to fly to SJ.

I think the school is great, and I am sure you are a good applicant, but it might be a waste of your time.

Having said that, if you want to try, I wish you the best of luck! :)

That would be a very expensive interview to attend.