Premed 101 Forums

CaRMS Guide

boringem

Hey team PreMed101,

As those of you that frequent the blog probably know by now, I have been posting CaRMS advice on my blog for the past 10 months or so. Recently, I organized the results and compiled them into a CaRMS guide with content directed at learners in different stages of medical school and the CaRMS process.

You can find the guide here:

http://boringem.org/carms-guide/

It has sections for pre-clerkship, clerkship, CaRMS applications and CaRMS interviews. I hope it helps some of you as you go through the process this year.

Best of luck and happy CaRMSing!

-brent

Sorry AuxButtesChaumont,

The big server that holds many of the medical blogs (~40 of the moderate sized ones) was having issues for the past few days.

Everything should be working now - let me know if you have any trouble!

Best of luck!

-brent

Hey brent, can you do one on 'how to ask for letters of reference?'

Like what kind of stuff ought I be providing to my referees; is it better to do it in person or is email cool? Should I be mentioning deadlines for the referees inthe request?

Thank you!

Those are some great questions! Absolutely. But it probably won't happen right away, sooooo, in brief:

Like what kind of stuff ought I be providing to my referees?

I think this depends slightly on who they are. Check out my Reference Letter Triple Crown post for different types you might like to ask. Generally, if they are very involved in a residency program and/or have been on a selection committee recently they will know what is included in a good LOR. If they haven't it might be worth providing them with some guidelines like these:

https://www.carms.ca/pdfs/Instruction_sheet_for_early_references_en.pdf

Is it better to do it in person or is email cool?