Premed 101 Forums

Question about switching residencies

No idea what section to post this under, so hopefully this works.

I'm a 4th year medical student, and am nearing the deadline for residency applications. I've considered a lot of different specialties during 3rd and 4th year, and seemed to have settled on applying to anesthesia. I like the mix of OR work and knowledge of physiology and medications. I've scheduled and completed a lot of electives in anesthesia at various institutions, and even done research in the field. Just like everything there have been good and bad times, but overall it's been a specialty that I've enjoyed more than others.

Lately however, I've been involved in some very cool plastics and ENT cases (on the anesthesia side of things), and can't help wondering, when staring over the drape, whether I should have explored these specialties more than I had (I did a bit of ortho, but decided it wasn't my thing); not necessarily looking to do ENT/plastics specifically, but really questioning whether I would better enjoy a life in surgery overall. I do enjoy working with my hands, and I liked the creative freedom they provide.

So now, with residency application deadlines soon approaching, I'm panicking a bit, wondering whether I would be more happier doing a surgical specialty, or if anesthesia is truly the right fit for me. I guess I'm not looking for an answer per se, but was wondering if any other current residents or prospective fellow med students have experienced the same feelings, and how they reconciled them (not necessarily for anesthesia!). I know it's hard to switch residencies during your PGY1 year, but is it really unrealistic? Any input would be greatly appreciated - thanks!