Premed 101 Forums

PT/OT as a backup to Medicine....

So I was wondering if anyone here has considered doing a Masters in PT/OT, and then re-applying to medical school, if they don't get into medicine straight out of undergrad?

Does a MSc (OT) or a MSc (PT) count towards doing a "masters degree", such that at some medical schools you get a small % boost to your GPA, or you are eligible to apply in the "Masters/Graduate" pool?

OR

Does PT/OT just count as "professional school program", where your PT/OT marks will not be looked at when re-applying to medical school? (in this case the only marks that WILL be looked at are those from undergrad..)

Thanks a lot!

As an applicant whose greatest desire is to get accepted into an OT program and work as a healthcare professional, I dislike seeing other applicants use PT or OT as 'backups' to their ultimate career goal of medicine. While I understand that most of us have to settle or something just in case our dreams don't pan out, it is very discouraging to know that someone out there may take another applicant's spot when it is not necessarily what he or she wanted and the sole intention is to use it as a stepping stone.

I'm happy you posted this, because I was thinking of trying to do something similar.

I would imagine it depends on the school. For instance, At UBC it states clearly that Graduate students will receive no preference through the application process, but it does say that marks obtained at a graduate level will be included in the pre-admission calculation of GPA. So while the MSc may not benefit you through a "Master's/Graduate" pool, it does give you a chance to add courses to your GPA calculation. I haven't researched other schools as much, but I'm assuming that at least a few others have similar policies.