Premed 101 Forums

MCAT SN2ed Schedule

sg17

Hi All, I was planning to give the MCAT in July/August this summer (This is my first time writing the MCAT). I was wondering has anyone followed the 3-month SN2ed schedule in the recent years had good results? Any tips?

Are there any other schedules that people recommend? Ideally I am looking to self-study, but just not sure where to start.

Thanks!

Thanks for your replies everyone!

Skip the hat tricks and replace with TPR SW passages or content review. In retrospective analysis, replace BR Bio with TPR SW. Also make a list of every error you make, then review that list of errors (people tend to make the same errors over and over).

Just wondering why TPR SW over BR Bio?

I'm not the person who said that, but I personally think BR anything is WAY more detailed than needed, especially as the MCAT moves farther and farther away from straight memorization.

I opened those books, freaked out at the level of detail, and switched to TPR.

I read each of the chapters twice, did about 3/4 of the SW and did all the practice tests. I got a 38.

I'm sure BR is great, but I don't think it's the be all end all that some people think it is.

You will get tested on content that is actually relevant and possible to answer.

BR's skill is taking the passages from old MCAT tests and incorporating them as information to be learned in the books. This works really well for physics and chemistry where you learn the actual MCAT tricks (and in some cases get tested on nearly the exact same questions on test day that would've been ridiculous to answer had you not encountered it before); however for bio it becomes too overwhelming.

• 3 weeks later...
I'm not the person who said that, but I personally think BR anything is WAY more detailed than needed, especially as the MCAT moves farther and farther away from straight memorization.

I opened those books, freaked out at the level of detail, and switched to TPR.