Premed 101 Forums

Cold-emailing for research

Mithcah

Hi everyone, I'm a medical student who's been trying to look for summer research, and so far I've had no luck. I was thinking about cold-emailing profs and offering to work without pay, but I just wanted to ask, do you guys think it's a good idea to include in my initial email that I would be willing to work for free? Or should I just continue emailing asking for positions without specifying paid or unpaid? I'm mostly interested in doing some sort of research this summer, not really in the $, but I'm wondering if there's some disadvantage to unpaid research e.g. doesn't look as good on CaRMS, relegated to menial work, no chance of pubs, etc.?

If there are any ways to get into research this late other than through the school programs and through cold-emailing, I'd appreciate your help on that as well. Thanks for your advice!

• 2 weeks later...
Hi everyone, I'm a medical student who's been trying to look for summer research, and so far I've had no luck. I was thinking about cold-emailing profs and offering to work without pay, but I just wanted to ask, do you guys think it's a good idea to include in my initial email that I would be willing to work for free? Or should I just continue emailing asking for positions without specifying paid or unpaid? I'm mostly interested in doing some sort of research this summer, not really in the $, but I'm wondering if there's some disadvantage to unpaid research e.g. doesn't look as good on CaRMS, relegated to menial work, no chance of pubs, etc.?

If there are any ways to get into research this late other than through the school programs and through cold-emailing, I'd appreciate your help on that as well. Thanks for your advice!

I think it is too late for this summer, are you studying medicine abroad? It would seem weird if a Canadian medical student would have trouble looking for summer research.

• 1 month later...