Premed 101 Forums

Preparing For Mcat 2015 With Minimal Coursework

math_head

I'm currently in my third year of a math major, and I'm considering writing the MCAT this summer so I can apply for med school in Fall 2015. I had taken essentially a biology major's coursework in first year: 2 semesters of biology, 1 semester of inorganic chemistry, 1 semester of organic chemistry, 2 semesters of anatomy, and 1 semester of psychology. However, my second year was entirely mathematics, so I'm a bit rusty with all of these subjects. I'm planning on doing my preparation during Winter 2015 as I have a work-term during that period, so I should be able to devote a good portion of my time to study.

I've been looking at some resources pertaining to preparing for the MCAT, and I'm a bit taken aback at the assumed depth of knowledge when it comes to certain things. For instance, this video on Khan Academy, which is the first in a series of new videos designed to prepare students for the 2015 MCAT, mentions "keto-enol tautomerization", which I had never even heard of in my organic chemistry course, and even if I had, I probably would not have remembered it. Later, it mentions carboxylation, which strikes me as much more familiar, yet still ghostly term.

So I ask you, how much knowledge is assumed of someone who cracks open a prep book like TPR or Examkrackers? Are these books as scary as the video I linked to someone who doesn't remember much from 20 months back? Is recently done coursework essential to doing well on the MCAT? Does anyone successful have experience being in this type of situation?

Video mentioned: