Premed 101 Forums

Mcmaster Pt Q&a

Hello ORPAS Applicants,

I saw that there was a thread for Queen's PT questions, so I thought I'd start a thread for Mac as well. I am a current student in my first year of the PT program at Mac, so if you have any questions about the program or application process, I will do my best to answer them. Happy Holidays and best wishes in the new year and with applications  :D

Pros and cons to PT at Mac? OK. I'll preface this with how the ORPAS application cycle went for me last year. I applied to Queen's, U of T, and Mac. I would have applied to Western too, but I didn't have the English credit and I was already taking an extra psych credit through Athabasca U for Queen's, so I didn't bother adding on a extra online course while working full time (and then some) hours at my previous job(s). So, got the MMI and CAP invites and Mac and U of T respectively, then got accepted to Mac and U of T (no dice from Queen's) and accepted Mac's offer.

Instead of doing pros and cons, I'll just throw out things about the McMaster program and do my best to put it in a neutral tone. Then you can decide whether it's a good or bad thing. So, the main thing to consider with Mac is how you'll adjust to a self-directed, problem-based learning (PBL) style. To be honest, it is and adjustment from my traditional didactic undergrad in science. So PBL can be either a pro or a con depending on how you look at it. I can't really tell you that it will make you a better practitioner or not, because I'm only one (of six) units into the program, but I can say that all the grads I've talked to REALLY vouch for its efficacy. That's about all I can say about PBL at this point other than it can be a bit more work and be frustrating at the beginning. The assistant dean told us on the first day of orientation that we should "trust the system", which is something we as first years are starting to do more and more.