Premed 101 Forums

What are the chances this late in the app cycle?

Guest siobhansiobhan

Guest siobhansiobhan

I'm glad to see that others are working on that Rosalind Franklin essay still - woah, so behind!

I was waiting for mcat marks (got good ones, the one highlight in an otherwise painful process including a not-so-great gpa and being from Ontario....)

Can anyone here talk about what the chances are applying this late when u.s. schools operate on rolling admissions?

Thanx -

p.s. - moo - I've seen your name over the years (YEARS!) here, and I was glad to see those early posts about u.s. schools over in the mac forums, i think that's where i saw your name before...

Siobhan

Guest QuestionMan23213

hey there, im no expert on american applications, but i can attempt to help. i myself was really late this cycle (submitted the primary application 5 weeks ago) and only now am i getting secondary apps. there was a huge delay in the mailing process of sending transcripts from some of my uni's that ive attended and then some of the schools may take a while to get back to you about the secondaries etc.

anyways, i think anyone here will say our chances havve been reduced quite a bit at this point because ppl have already been given interviews and even acceptances. On the other hand, if you have an amazing mcat (which you said you do) you may still have a good shot if you apply to enough places. all i can say is if you submitted ur primary today and made arrangements to have all your stuff mailed, it may take up to a month b4 the schools get the application in their hands. aamc also takes about 2-6 weeks to process the primary once u do submit. also a lot of uni's had a nov 15 deadline to get the verified primary but some are later so you would have to find schools that are still accepting new applications.