Premed 101 Forums

so here's my problem

Guest arachniphobic730

Guest arachniphobic730

i graduated from school here in ontario this past year, and after being rejected from the canadian med schools i applied to, i thought about applying to grad school. the thing is, i don't really want to do research, and medicine is something i really want to do...so i am looking to taking this coming year off and apply to schools in the states.

however, i feel like because my gpa is ~3.5 i'm at such a disadvantage of getting into a decent school. i did alright on the mcat i wrote a while ago (32Q), and i have a broad range of extracurriculars (i think).

my first question is, which schools do you people think i'll have a good shot in? i don't want to waste money on schools that i'll have absolutely no chance in...

and my second question is, how much does the AMCAS essay figure?

thanks for all your input :D

-arachniphobic730

• 2 weeks later...
Guest ilitvino

Hey, you actually have an ok score and GPA for most US med schools. You definately don't want to apply to any of the state schools-- you won't get in. Their primary mission is to train people, who will remain in that given state. Here is my short list of schools that I think you will be competitive at:

George Washington U (D.C.)

Tufts U (Boston, MA)

Boston U (Boston, MA)

Creighton U (Omaha, Nebraska)

Eastern VA (Norfolk, VA)

Jefferson (Philly, PA)

Drexel U (Philly, PA)

Mt. Sinai (NYC, NY)

NY Med College (Valhala, NY)

Temple U (Philly, PA)

U Rochester (Rochester, NY)

U Southern Calif (LA, CA)

Finch U (Chicago), Loyola U (Chicago), Rush U (Chicago) - check if they are aceepting foreign applications.

Also, stay away from "historically Affrican-American schools".

Regards,

Ivan

Guest magicbullet57

hey ilitvino (or anyone who knows the ansewer),