Premed 101 Forums

Hints/help - residency in US, visa and spouse

Guest Dakota82

Guest Dakota82

I am a Canadian student (currently in 2nd year med school) who would like to do my residency in the US. I am thinking about plastics, which is very competitive. Can anybody out there who is also looking at a residency in the US comment on what I should be doing right now to make myself more "attractive" to the US schools when I go for interviews?

Also, another question...I am married, and I was wondering if anyone may be able to comment on the likelihood of my husband being able to come to the States with me if and when I do this (he would be just working, not going to school) - what kind of visa would he need, or would it be even likely that he could get a visa?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! :P

As you said, plastics is very competitive. I knew a kid, AOA, all honors third year, great recs, 250 on step I, great research, did not match. A lot of it is connections. You probably should do a few away rotations in the US. Your USMLE should be > 250 (especially as a Canadian). High-quality research is desired. Getting excellent letters in the field and trying to honor as many rotations as possible should also be a priority. (I'm sure this is stuff you know already)Also, as a Canadian student, with no American green card at least, I assume, it is very very difficult to match into--you're almost always going to be relegated to programs at undesirable locations or undesirable programs period--if you match at all. As a Canadian student, you are unfortunately also somewhat of an unknown entity. Most competitive US programs still care very much about the medical school you attended. Sorry for the dismal outlook but this is the way I've seen plastics go. Even my cocky friend has decided plastics is too competitive for him--his back up is now rads. (This is a guy that had a guaranteed ENT spot for him at an outside institution through his connections with our ENT PD.)