Premed 101 Forums

High Schooler wanting some advice

Guest hockeyrocksca

Guest hockeyrocksca

I am a grade 12 student who will be attending the University of Victoria or Alberta next year. I have acceptance from Alberta already and am waiting to apply for UVic. I am thinking of attending medical school later down the road and therefore concerned about the following?

I would like to take chemistry or biochemistry at University. Are these the “right subjects” for me to take? Are there any subjects that are “more right” than others he should consider at university for entrance to medical school? Also, is a major or specialization better to take?

If you go to a school (Alberta) that has a medical school vs one that does not (Victoria), does that improve your chances?

How important is the Co-op program and the experience you gain from it in the med school admissions process?

Right now, I'm heavily involved in St. Council, community volunteering, and intramural sports....should i continue this heavy involvement in university...or are marks really the main criteria?

Thank you very much for your help.

Guest jackiedirks

Hey Hockeyrocks-