Premed 101 Forums

What would you do??

Guest Biochem10

Guest Biochem10

Hey, here's a hypothetical question that I'm just putting out here for kicks (considering the tuition cost issue): I applied to McGill and U of T for med school, I'm a quebec student and I REALLY would like to go to U of T. If you were me and got accepted to both schools which would you choose? Consider the fact that McGill's tuition for Quebec students is around $5,000 whereas U of T is $16,000 and that I already have debts totalling $18,000. I know the answer seems obvious, but here's another thing I'll throw out...I applied to the MD/PhD program and there's a researcher in Toronto I really want to work for (I've already spoken with her and it would be a really good place for my PhD). this is not to say that I'll get into the program, but if I had a choice I really wouldn't know what to do. My parents keep saying that the debt is an issue, but I figure that my happiness is much more important. What do you guys think???

Guest Ian Wong

Honestly, I would put that out of your mind, and only cross that bridge if you encountered it. There's always a chance that if you decide now, that you subconsciously won't put full effort into the other schools, and I think that would be a mistake.

Also, there's just so many other factors at work. Proximity to family and friends, tuition, housing and living expenses, the character and characteristics of each city, curriculum and teaching styles, climate, etc all should and will be, factors in your decision. There's a very good chance that during your interviews, you will find one city or another more fitting with your long-term goals.