Premed 101 Forums

Premed Course Selection

Guest Rome1

Guest Rome1

I had a question about selecting courses for next year. Is there a certain limit to the amount of first year courses that I can take?

Next year, I have space for two electives, for which i am planning on taking two first year courses. Do med schools have any rules about the amount of first year courses that i can take while I am in second year ( I am in first year now)? I think i read something about it in one of the school's website, but when I went to look back, I really didn't find anything on it. If anyone know how this works, i would really appreciate the help. Thanks.

Guest mitchie41

No, I don't think there are any limits on the amount of first year courses you can take. However, this differs from school to school. For instance, I remember reading somewhere that at U of T, you can't take more than 6 full first year courses if you want to graduate after taking 20 courses(www.artsandscience.utoron...gree.htm).

Guest calvindog

Generally speaking there are few, in any, limitations for taking first year courses during your second year at University.

Keep in mind that many people are taking first year course even in there fourth year just to fill electives. There are limitations, however, to take third year courses in your second year sometimes. These limitations are usually expressed in the pre-req section of the course listing in the University calender.

I found that in my second year I was taking 1st, 2nd, and even 3rd year courses. This continues today in my fourth year.

Hope this helps

Guest aneliz

Most universities will give a maximum number of credits that you can have at the first year level in a single degree....I think that this was something like 7.0 or 8.0 at Guelph where I did my undergrad.