Premed 101 Forums

A Small Problem...

Guest rez32

Guest rez32

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a high school student heading for university this coming Fall. I'm thinking of going to a school where I know absolutely NOBODY, and am worried that I might have a problem when it comes to group projects/lab partners, that sort of thing. If I end up with a slacker as a lab partner, will this greatly affect my marks? I know this is a tiny problem, but I'm really worried about university!

Another question, perhaps not so trivial -- are people at a serious disadvantage if they don't have access to past tests? Are tests doable without the assistance of these past tests?

Thanks for listening to my rantings, and even more thanks if you reply! :P

Guest aneliz

Don't worry....

I knew absolutely nobody when I started university too...I survived!!

You will meet new people very quickly....because believe it or not, about 95% of the people in your classes/labs will be in the same boat.

As for having a slacker of a lab partner...well, it's possible but I never had it happen. You will usually be able to judge people pretty easily and be able to find people that have similar academic goals. Keep in mind that a lot of the so-called 'dead weight' types that you may have been dealing with in high school group work projects will not be going to university, or if they are, will not be in your program if they are. (And if they start off with you, unless they reform their ways, they won't be around for long!)

As for marks, most things are marked individually anyway (at least they were in my classes). Even though we had a lab partner for chem and orgo labs, we kept our own lab books and handed in our own independent lab reports. Hence, you could control your own marks pretty easily.

Don't worry. One less than stellar lab partner not of your choosing will NOT sink your med school hopes!

:)

Guest UWOMED2005