Premed 101 Forums

memorization in pharmacology

Guest ikaj

Guest ikaj

So many drugs! so many side effects etc.

Does anyone have any suggestions of how to memorize it all? I usually just memorize for the exam, then forget right after.

As a physician I will have to be able to keep track of many symptoms of various illnesses...how do we store this info in long term memory??

I have made flash cards, but seriously...how many can you have!

Some people tell me to make up songs--but I am not that creative!

Any other suggestions?

Guest druggist

Hello

As a pharm student, memorization is a huge key. Every drug not only has a name, but differing mechanisms of action, pharmacokinetics, adverse reactions, and to top it all off, DOSES. Not only that, but drugs interact with diseases, concomitant meds, and even foods (the infamous grapefruit juice as an inhibitor of cytochrome P450 3A4 and other isotypes). The best way to memorize drugs is to list them according to their category/therapeutic class into a table containing listings of MOA, ADRS, etc. etc. and then just write HOW THEY DIFFER. Similarities do not matter, so dont list them. Hope this helps, works for me quite well. As far as diagnostic differences, hopefully Ill come up with an ingenious study mechanism for this In meds.

Cheers

Guest Nurze06

as a nursing student i completely agree!

begin with the pharm/therapeutic classes and then identify differences. it makes it was easier! cramming for this type of thing is no good in the long run. i can only suggest that you refer back to your summary sheets/study notes regularly for now. essentially it's just practice, and that takes TIME. there is nothing wrong with consulting your references--doctors do this everyday.

and finally,

drug exams are one thing, giving them to people is another. the sheer gravity of affecting someones health helps me remember--and i'm sure it will help you too.;)

Guest grandmellon