Premed 101 Forums

Respiratory Therapy vs. Masters

Guest KineticsChick

Guest KineticsChick

Hi All...

I am a med school wannabe for sure! I have wanted this most of my life. I am a recent grad from U of O in Human Kinetics. My gpa is not the best, it is awesome the last 2 years (surprisingly the years I took the harder courses), but I plan to write the MCATs

My dilemma is does anyone know of anyone who has been admitted to Med that has done Resp. Therapy? Also, I am debating between this and a masters in physiology, I assume masters would be better for admission?

Thanks!!!

Guest tirisa

Hey Kineticschick,

First of all, the fact that your GPA is great in the last two years is an awesome sign... you clearly do really well when you're interested and challenged. I'm not familiar with the admissions requirements for all the different schools, but I do know that UWO looks at your two best years only, so make sure you apply there, once you do your MCATs.

However, your question was regarding Resp. Therapy or a masters, and you said that you assumed that a masters will be better for admissions... however, having a masters is not necessarily an advantage. Some schools consider it and others do not, so you need to look at each schools' requirements. Check the OMSAS website or each individual university website for info on how they consider graduate degrees.

However, regarding an additional degree, what has been said repeatedly by several members of this forum is that you need to do what you are interested in taking, not what you think the admissions committee wants to see. Regardless of whether you do a masters or a respiratory therapy degree, you are going to need to invest a lot of time and energy... particularly if you are doing a masters with a thesis... which is not always a barrel of fun. So take what YOU want to take.