Premed 101 Forums

Definitely need some advice here!

Guest Copasetic

Guest Copasetic

Hello all. Firstly, I'd like to thank Ian for this excellent resource for the aspiring Canadian med student. I did not expect such a resource to be available! Secondly, this is a long one. Please bear with me.

On to the meat of my problem. I am 22 years of age. Currently I am working the computer networking field. I am quite good at what I do. I am employed full-time with a large book distributor in Niagara Falls, Ontario. I am a college graduate in the field of Computer Networking. I was not a strong student in high school. This was not due to a lack of intelligence, but rather drive. I attended college in Toronto for computer networking knowing full-well I wanted to be a physician, I graduated, but my GPA was not what one would consider outstanding. Again, this was due to my lack of interest in the material. I do understand, that I am not off to a good start. I do realize also that when one aspires to a field such as medicine, one must be able to apply himself full in all fields of study. Including those which may not interest said individual. There is no doubt in my mind, that I could have done very well in both high school, as well as college. Surely you've heard this story before.

Firstly, I would appreciate any and all feedback. My plan is as follows: