Premed 101 Forums

Is it worth it?

Guest Gedz1

Guest Gedz1

Hi all

Im a 4th year mechanical engineer at Queen's whos strongly considering applying for med school. In my program were allowed very little choice in regards to our courses so i would need to take an extra year to get all the prereq's that most schools require. My average is just under 80% which is quite good for my program but is probably pretty low compared to most other applicants. Im from Ottawa and have a step parent who is part of the ottawa U med school faculty, and is also an alumni. Im not sure if that helps much but maybe its a bit of an advantage. Anyways, i understand how difficult it is to get accepted, and im wondering if spending an extra year taking the required bio and chem courses is a good descion with such low acceptance percentages.

Thanks

Guest Kirsteen

Hi,

I guess one of the first things you should delve down and ask yourself is how badly you'd like to get onto a medic's career path. If it's badly, then sure, taking an extra year of courses may be worth it. Having survived engineering, you'd probably find the pre-requisite science courses to be a bit of a breeze, so the extra year would only serve to boost your average, potentially. As to the Ottawa U. wrinkle, the status that you describe above may work to your advantage. It's probably worth having a closer look at how Ottawa U. defines their Ottawa-area applicants. :)

Cheers and good luck with your decision,

Kirsteen

Guest UTMed07
Anyways, i understand how difficult it is to get accepted, and im wondering if spending an extra year taking the required bio and chem courses is a good descion with such low acceptance percentages.
Yup. The odds seriously suck. Is it worth it? I think it depends on how much you want it and if it works-out.

My average is just under 80% which is quite good for my program but is probably pretty low compared to most other applicants.