Premed 101 Forums

First Year of University?

Guest thegreatone09

Guest thegreatone09

Hey! I was just wondering how much workload can one expect to have in theit first year of university, taking into consideration they are thinking about med school. How much time do you spend on studying and doing academic work? Thanks in advance!

Guest aneliz

That depends on your program, how much time you devote to studying, and the elective courses that you pick...

On average, the typical first year science student spends ~21-24 hours per week IN CLASS. As a general rule, one should expect to spend AT LEAST one hour per hour of class time reviewing/studying/writing lab reports etc. So, that would be another 21-24 hours...as a minimum. Add the two together = 42-48 hours per week either in class or sitting down doing work.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm in first year right now. and i'm dying. I spend 10 hours a day in classes and then study like crazy all day..and i'm still getting a lousy average

Is this normal? My mom tells me it's because it's a big transition coupled with the fact that i'm so far away from home for the first time..but I dropped something like 20-25 percent..it makes no sense :(