Premed 101 Forums

Is It Even Worth Trying For Med?

Medicine is a field that has only started to interest me over the past couple months. But I kind of feel like I may have already put myself at a disadvantage. First off, let me say this. I come from an extremely dysfunctional family. I won't go into details but largely because of this, I have struggled with extreme depression. I never graduated from high school. Despite this, I was eligible to attend a local college through a program called "the adult graduation program" which only requires you to be 19 years old. So as soon as I turned 19 I signed up, wrote a placement test which I scored well on, and started my education. My first year was less than impressive. I was living at home, still struggling with extreme depression and finished the year with a 3.3 GPA (I was a B+/B student mostly). I withdrew from 3 courses, and that is on my transcript. I should also mention that I withdrew from the same chemistry course twice. I don't know why I even bothered to take it a second time to be honest. Chemistry interests me, but I wasn't in a proper state to take any courses like that. I often went home after class to drink until I passed out or just do anything to take my mind off my problems. Medicine was the last thing on my mind, so I didn't really care much about my grades as long as I wasn't failing and got enough credits to transfer to UBC, which I did.