Premed 101 Forums

terrified...

Guest sharibean

Guest sharibean

Hey everyone,

This is my first time here; I'm glad I've found a place where I can get all my med school anxieties and thoughts out! I'm in my second year doing my ungergrad at Mac. Lately I've been getting soooo worried about achieving my goal of medical school - maybe cause midterms are weighing heavy on me right now. I just worry whether I'm doing enough volunteering and stuff, but mainly I worry whether my grades will cut it. I have about an 88% average - not sure what that converts to on the 4.0 scale...I want this so much. I'm sure many of you will understand. I WANT TO BE A DOCTOR SO BADLY! I've been researching the application process and all the schools since I was 16; I know it inside out, but that makes my aprehensions worse! I currently do the basic hospital vlunteering and I work with a child mentorship program. I've done a few other things in the past, but nothing too out of the ordinary. I work part time too. How do I make myself an exceptional candidate? Any advice or encouragement would be greatly appreciated :)

See ya!

shari

Guest monksters

Hi there,

I'm sure many of your peers feel the same anxiety.... I don't worry too much about how much you are volunteering but try to have fun with it. But if it stresses you out too much then replace it with some other things that you might enjoy more. Your grades look really good, better than mine in undergrad. But perhaps try to figure out why you have so much fear and anxiety because that may be your biggest challenge right now, much more than getting in to med school. The rest will follow...

Guest monksters

Hi there,