Premed 101 Forums

Do med schools require Calculus as a pre-req?

Guest confused555

Guest confused555

Hey everyone,

I'm a first year student at U of T scarborough and I just have a question about 1st year calculus. For next semester, I'm signed up for MATA35...which is a half year course... " calculus for life sciences" . I"m not sure if it's a common course at other schools too. UTSC breaks first year calc up into 2 half courses. THe first half is the same basic calc for everyone, and the second half we can choose b/w calc for physical sciences ( which has a reputation of being impossible!) or calc for life sciences

Anyways, I've heard that the life sciences calc course isn't accepted as a med school requirement for calculus. I know it differs from school to school, but am I taking a huge risk by taking this? I've checked U of T"s requirements out and I know that calc isn't even a requirement. BUt for other schools, I don't want to be closing any options. Does anybody know any specifics about this? Hope you understand my question!

I'd appreciate whatever advice about calc possible...b/c i have to make a decision about next semester! Thanks so much!!!!!

Edited the subject to make it more specific and to get rid of the all-capital letters. -Ian

UWO does not have a calculus requirement either...and any math course can be used to satisfy the "science unrelated to biology or chemistry" requirement.

Good luck!

I am pretty sure that none of the schools require calculus. At some schools like Western you can use it as a pre-req for the non-science requirements. You may want to check into this, but I am pretty sure that Western was the only school that looked at my calculus as a pre-req.

Guest Steve U of T