Premed 101 Forums

Please Help,what Are My Chances?

Hello All, 

I am a recent grad from the University of Alberta with a bachelors of science in biological sciences with a cGPA of 3.56 (exclusion of the first year and spring summer courses). My DAT scores are as follows: 

MD:28

PA:19

RC:18
BIO:19

CHEM:14 (I don't know what i was thinking)

AA: 17

TS:17

I am very passionate about the field of dentistry but with my current GPA and DAT scores I feel like my dream to pursue dentistry is at a halt at the moment. 

I want to apply to Canadian dental schools, but dental schools abroad are an option as well. However, US/Ireland/Australian dental schools means of calculating GPA brings my GPA down to a 3.19 which makes my chances of acceptance close to slim. 

Please advise as to what I should do to bring my GPA up and whether I have a chance at dental school if I work on my grades a little. 

I have great extracurricular activities which consist of many leadership positions, research, sports, hospital and dental volunteer work.

PLEASE HELP ME OUT, i would be forever grateful for any form of guidance and words of encouragement. 

Hey there!

First of all, you just need to know that if you really have the passion for dental school, you will definitely get in. It's only a matter of time. I think a lot of us get into the mentality that either we get in ASAP or never at all. In my personal situation, I had a good GPA in my undergrad, but I only recently got serious about pursuing dentistry, and I spent three years after my undergrad until I finally decided to apply. So whatever extra time you take to boost up your GPA and work on your application is not the end of the world, in fact there are countless other applicants (like me) out there who did the same thing.

So down to the practical advice: