Premed 101 Forums

I'm At A Crossroads. What Should I Do? What Would You Do?

Hello everyone,

Unfortunately, I didn't get into dental school this year (so much for my username). I could use some advice from you wise folks on what to do this summer and going forward.

Background: I'm 31 this year. I've done an undergrad but I'm in my 4th year of my second one. My GPA for both degrees combined is about 3.3; for the second one alone it's about 3.923 OMSAS:

1st year: 5.0 credits 3.83

1st year summer: 1.0 credits 3.90

2nd year: 3.5 credits 3.9857

summer: 0.5 credits 4.00

3rd year: 2.0 credits 3.975

summer: 1.0 credit 4.00

4th year: 2.0 credits 3.95

DAT: 25 BIO/25 GC/25 RC/22 PAT

Besides work, which I've been doing continuously for the past 6 years (adjusting number of hours worked per week according to course load), I don't really have a lot of ECs.

If you were in this position, what would you do? How would you work through a problem like this? What options do I have? I've been told that there are a lot of things I'd be able to get into (with a bit of work on fulfilling requirements of course), and I've *thought* about other programs but I'm not really sold on anything yet. So if anyone has "insider" information that pharmacy/physiotherapy/etc is really awesome and wouldn't mind sharing that info, I'd really appreciate it.

I still want dent (esp. at U of T; it's the only school I applied to this year), but the one-year wait is so painful. I'm thinking it might be best to expand my options for next year. Would any of you opt to get a full-time job and not look back? I've also gotten advice from someone to write the MCAT and expand my options into med. What's your take on that?

Again, I appreciate any and all advice/comments/encouragement. I realize that I'm going to have to figure this out mostly on my own, but by reaching out, I'm also hoping that someone says something that elicits an epiphany.

Thank you