Premed 101 Forums

Chances Of Getting Into Canadian/american Dental Schools

Hi everyone,

I am in my third year majoring in civil engineering at UBC and am interested in applying to dental school. I have taken most required bio/chem/biochem courses. 

My first question is how do you convert your average grade in percentage to GPA? I tried looking on the school websites on their methods since every school is different, but have had no luck so far. Does anyone have links to these pages? FYI my cumulative average is 82% and 85% if you take out my worst year (If you know what GPA this is roughly please let me know!)

Next, I know that it is extremely competitive to get into dental school. Looking at just my current GPA alone, do I have any chance of getting into an American/Canadian dental school? And if so, which ones? 

Lastly, do dental schools take into account how heavy of a course load someone has when looking at GPA? 

Thanks in advance

Assuming your a BC resident you'll have the best luck applying as an in province applicant to UBC and after that you can apply OOP to other schools but its more competitive as an OOP student.

American schools for the most part are much easier to get into then Canadian ones, so even if your grades and DAT scores are on the lower end for Canadian applicants you might still be a mid to upper tier US applicant. You might have to take the US DAT and school specific pre-reqs depending where you apply. The largest down side of the US is that its also helllllla expensive (300-400k). If your considering the US check out Case western reserve, U Detroit mercy, BU, Temple, NYU, Tufts and a bunch more I'm sure if you just google "Canadian friendly US dental schools" there will be a million SDN/premed101 forum posts about it.   

Assuming your a BC resident you'll have the best luck applying as an in province applicant to UBC and after that you can apply OOP to other schools but its more competitive as an OOP student.