Premed 101 Forums

my story

Guest eye hope its my turn

Hello everyone. This forum is awesome, I check it out as often as I check my e-mail. Well, I am also a med hopeful but what makes me different from everyone else here is that med is a long shot for me (my marks are very low) but I am trying to embellish my academic record with an MSc. I found reading other people’s stories very helpful, so I thought that I too, should contribute: I applied to only 1 med skool (mac). Actually it's my 2nd time applying there (last year being my first). Let me start by telling what happened last year. It was final year of undergrad (I'm an OOP student) and I had one of my semesters flagged as anomaly for no credit due to illness. However, the bad marks were not removed from my transcript and a symbol was put beside it and excluded from my U's CGPA. Anyhow, without that bad semester, I made the 3.0 cut off and I tried for Mac. I didn't expect an interview, but I just wanted my application to be assessed. Once I received the OMSAS verification letter, despite the fact that my U excluded those marks from my GPA, OMSAS included all marks on the transcript despite the fact my U excluded them from my GPA calculation. In order for them to exclude it, my U would have to remove them from the transcript. I went to my U's registrar, and told them about the situation, and they provided me with a letter explaining their regulations of not being able to remove grades from academic records and how my application should be considered as I met the OMSAS 3.0 on 4.0 scale GPA requirement without those marks. I FedExed that letter to both OMSAS and to Mac and I received a reject letter from Mac the 2nd week of Jan.2001. I didn't think that it was fair that OMSAS included those bad marks in my GPA despite the fact that they were not degree-credit courses (as I made up for them in the summer once I recovered from my illness). I then persisted nonetheless and wrote another letter to the chair of admiss