Premed 101 Forums

OOP

Guest Jim2375

Guest Jim2375

Hi All,

Does anyone know if McMaster has an In-Province quota ?

Or if the one's geographical location is irrelevant ?

Also what GPA do they consider ? Is is the overall GPA ?

Thanks.

Jim

Guest TimmyMax

Hey,

Not that I'm an expert on Mac, but I'll share what I know. Mac gives geographical preference to Ontarians over OOPs, if I'm not mistaken. The GPA Mac uses is a simple average of ALL courses you have taken in your undergraduate career, including, again, if I'm not mistaken, stuff like summer courses. No special weighting is given, nor is there any way to drop any bad years unless you are a grad student. Hope this helps!

Best of luck!

Timmy

Guest Jim2375

Hi All,

What sort of GPA can get an out of province student an interivew at Mac ? I have an overall gpa of 3.8 OOP.

Shoud I bother applying next year ?

Guest dodobird

definately apply. i'm a west coaster with a 3.11 and received an interview this year. i don't recall the exact stats but i think last year close to 800 oop's applied and about 40 received interivews. good luck.

Guest Jim2375

Hey dodoBird,

Congrats on getting the interview. So if GPA doesnt seem to matter much, what does matter?

I mean do they decide based on the extra-curriculars ?

Thanks so much for the reply.

jim

Guest dodobird