Premed 101 Forums

OOP applicants

Guest MACbetty

Guest MACbetty

Hi to all

This is my first time posting on the site, although i have read many of the posts in the last couple weeks. Very informative. Thanks to everyone for the helpful replies.

I'm a geographical status 2 applicant to MAC (I've lived in Toronto for about one year and it's my first time applying to medical school). I was wondering what my overall chances are as an out of province applicant? On average, how many OOP applicants are interviewed/accepted each year? Does MAC give consideration to the fact that i now live in Ontario?

Some friends have said that being OOP increases my chances of getting into MAC because there are so few applicants in the OOP pool that it is easier to stand out and shine. Can anyone corroborate this or are my friends just being kind. I appreciate any comments. (FYI: i'm in my early 30's with an average GPA from undergrad, i have a graduate degree with a high GPA, and I have been working for about 4 years in my current profession; i'm married with no kids).

Thank you in advance.

MACbetty

Guest cradlecrotch

As far as I understand it, OOP applicants are in the same applicant pool as anyone else, therefore you won't have any extra opportunity to stand out. In fact, you must demonstrate yourself to be superior to an Ontario applicant...sorry to disappoint. Only international applicants are considered as a separate applicant group.

• 1 month later...
  • 4 weeks later...
Guest Tartuffe

Hello,

Could anyone tell me, what it means to be superior to Ontario resident… is it only regarding the GPA or the overall? :o

I have to admit that I am a bit concern on that point since I did my undergrad abroad and the marking system was very different from Canada. I mean by that with 60% I was ahead of my class. I did my Master in Canada and graduated with a GPA of 95% (3.8) .