Premed 101 Forums

DAT resources for 1st Year Student

Hey guys,

I'm a first year student looking to prepare for and write the DAT in the next year. There seems to be countless pricey resources available which makes it hard to narrow down what to use. Can anyone who has written the DAT (and did well) give me a brief overview of the best resources to be had for the Canadian DAT. Additionally, do you think it might be too early for me to write the DAT while only being in first year?

Thank you.

Hey .. Its never too early. If anything you're putting yourself at an advantage. I highly recommend DAT BootCamp. But you're gonna need like 3 months to actually cover everything. For the bio section .. Read or memorize (whatever your method is) all the details below every question. Personally I keep bio for the last 10 days. Cram everything when it comes to bio. And their chem .. Great videos and questions they have to offer. And pat is phenomenal. Their explanation is very helpful. But like I said .. You're gonna actually need about 3 months to cover everything and be fully confident. Hope that was helpful. 

Just be careful because some schools require your DAT scores to be within 2 years when you apply. So if you apply in your fourth year you won't be able to use your first year scores (could be a good thing if you do bad and want to retake it or a bad thing if you did really well, you probably will have to take it again). I would say if you are applying in your fourth year, February of your second year and onwards are pretty safe times to write it. Be sure to check with the schools you want to apply to, every school is different.