Premed 101 Forums

how do people TA during undergrad?

Guest mmhs12345

Guest mmhs12345

I read that a couple of people have posted that they have TAed during undergrad. How is that possible? I thought only masters/phd students can TA.

At my school, masters/PhD students can be lab instructors, which undergrads can't, but anyone who has previously taken the course can TA or assist with labs. I'm only in second year and was asked to apply (couldn't because of my schedule, though.) This may vary by school.

Depends what school, I don't know of any undergrads being TA's here. So that may be the issue, different schools have different regulations.

I know for the histology lab at McGill (ANAT 261), each small group has a TA that helps guide the lesson and these positions are filled by 3rd or 4th year undergrads; the three head TA positions are graduate students. I think undergrads can also TA for ANAT 262 as well as the PHGY department which has "Undergraduate Student Course Assistants" who are each specific to particular systems.

Depends what school, I don't know of any undergrads being TA's here. So that may be the issue, different schools have different regulations.

I know for the histology lab at McGill (ANAT 261), each small group has a TA that helps guide the lesson and these positions are filled by 3rd or 4th year undergrads; the three head TA positions are graduate students. I think undergrads can also TA for ANAT 262 as well as the PHGY department which has "Undergraduate Student Course Assistants" who are each specific to particular systems.

Yeah I was going to say, I know of several courses at McGill with undergrad TA's. ANAT 261, ANAT 214, and many courses have USCA's or TTA's. So it all depends on the school/department/course, some allow undergrad TA's and some are restricted to grad students.