Premed 101 Forums

Stuck on whether to pursue a course-based masters or a second undergrad degree

Hey guys, I would like your input on whether to pursue a second undergrad degree or a course-based masters. 

Some things I should tell you about me:

- I graduated from UBC with a AGPA of ~85%. I know this GPA allows me to apply to UBC, but my degree was an absolute mess. I have 2Ws, 2 semesters with 4 courses instead of 5, I was interested in science but I never organized my thoughts to concentrate on a subject so my third and fourth year timetable was riddled with a bunch of non-degree, non-science electives. Anyone with a critical eye will be able to see that I never had a passion in my studies, and while I successfully met the requirements to graduate, I feel like I graduated as an undeclared student. And I now feel terrible about my records. 

- My ECs from UBC is on the good side. Lots of experience in research, leadership roles, and a few long term commitments I'm still continuing today.

- I've been working in my current job for a year. Pay is sub-par but has significant upward mobility. 

Pros for course-based masters: I'm thinking of a public health degree 

1. Advances my career (although not directly). 
  2. Should increase my cAGPA by 1 or 2%.
  3. Generally just more experience I can mention. 

Cons for course-based masters: 

1. Once I finish my masters I'll be approaching 27 (I need to finish some courses as an undeclared for a year to meet my prereqs). It kind of bothers me that I'll submit my first med school app come this age.

Pros for second undergrad degree:

1. I'll be able to redeem myself. I've made poor choices in my first degree, but I did know how to study and I've matured significantly since, so if I complete another degree I know I'll feel very proud. Possible to bump my GPA up ~3%.