Premed 101 Forums

The Dentistry Appreciation Thread

I'm starting a new thread where we can share and discuss the great things about dentistry.

Perhaps if this thread grows enough, it can become a sticky thread (via the moderators), and predentists can have something inspiring and positive to read at the top of PM101. 

I'll start by posting my message form a recent, other thread, below. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a dentist, who graduated from Schulich in 2014. This thread has gotten out of control. There are a handful of posters who are knowledgeable (either dentists or dental students) and then those looking from the other side of the pond (predentists) that are worried and perhaps misinformed in parts. 

Predentists: I understand the worry. I heard it when I was in dental school too. But this thread has been blown way, way out of proportion. A few painters seem upset about things, and the comments and their facts are spiralling down. 

I work in Oakville and Woodbridge ON, both close to Toronto. One practice was a new practice four years ago, one is with a long established single dentist practice. 

I am a competent dentist, I'm cautiously quick at restorative, always felt comfortable with endo (root canal therapy) and enjoy prosthodontics (dentures). I would put myself in the top 1/3 of my class clinically, but I am not gifted, just a regular recent grad. 

I produce on any normal day 1000-2000. If I had to pick an average, I'd say $1500. On a slow day it could be 600 (my lowest day in a year) and on a good day with a denture insertion for example it could be $3500 (my highest day this year was around $4200). I get paid 40% of collections and don't know a single friend working for less then 40%, although I'm sure someone is.