Premed 101 Forums

When Should I Start To Volunteer + Ec's?

Hi 

I'm going to university starting this fall. Do you recommend me volunteering during the school year or should I concentrate on studying and school clubs, and do volunteering, and work in the summer? (I will be at Western if that helps)

Also how does my timetable look for my first term at Western? 

Biology 1001A 

Chemistry 1301A

Physics 1028A 

Calculus 1000 

English 1020E 

Your most important priority is GPA. Once you get that under control, then spread your wings, not before. The transition is difficult. Use your summers effectively and remember, adcoms are looking for a combination of academic excellence and active citizenship, which means eventually undertaking volunteering during the normal academic year, using CanMEDS competencies as your guide.

I graduated from Western and this would be my general advice for someone trying to be a great premed:

1st year: Achieve the best GPA and average you can. +3.95 and +92% would be great (you want a high average since it helps you land NSERC and scholarships). This might be hard with an English course but just try your best. With regards to volunteering and clubs, I'd say it's semi-optional. You should try and volunteer early on in the semester when it's not busy but don't go overboard.

IMO having a good time and making friends in first year is really important. Aside from the social/relationship aspects, friends can help you out with exec positions, refer you to volunteer/work positions, help out with notes, etc. People are the most social and open during first year as well.

Spend your summer volunteering at fun events. If possible apply for work-study to try and land a volunteer research position during the school year.