Premed 101 Forums

first year labs

Guest Penny

Guest Penny

This is kind of a silly question, but I am still curious to know. Is it in first year or second year that we get to dissect the cadavers?

Guest doctorbones

Almost every med school has the anatomy segment right away. That means cadavers immediately. The registration packages come out really soon, and then we will find out for sure. I have lots of undergrad experience with anatomy and was even a T.A. for Anatomy of Vertebrates. Still not looking forward to it though, dogfish shark one thing, people definitely another! But, I guess it is necessary and I will learn to tolerate it. I just hope I don't get sick the very first class!

:x

Guest kosmo14

Registration materials came today and we have Gross Anat Tuesdays 1:30-4:30 and Friday 1:30-4:30.

Well doctorbones if you get sick during the first class I will most likely be right beside you getting sick also.

For those curious and haven't gotten thier registration materials yet here is our schedule for next year:

Monday: 8:30-9:30 History of Med Intdl 202.1

9:30-10:30 Physiology Physio 202.9

10:30-12:00 Biochemistry Bioch 213.8 (blech!)

1:30-4:30 Life Cycle & Humanities Intdl 204.6

Tuesday: 8:30-11:30 Histology & Cell Bio Anat 232.6

11:30-12:30 Biochemistry Bioch 213.8

1:30-4:30 Gross Anat & Embryology Anat 235.9

Wednesday: 8:30-10:30 Physiology Physio 202.9

10:30-11:30 Biochemistry Bioch 213.8

whoohooo rest of the day off

Thursday: 11:30-12:30 Professional Skills Intdl 205.6

1:30-4:30 Professional Skills Intdl 205.6

Friday: 8:30-9:30 Histology & Cell Bio Anat 232.6

9:30-10:30 Physiology Physio 202.9

10:30-12:00 Biochemistry Bioch 213.8

1:30-4:30 Gross Anat & Embryology Anat 235.9

Pretty much looks like Fridays going to hurt, but all in all not too bad (other than Bioch. 4 days per week).

Guest Ian Wong